La Rose Design Award

The Society’s Design Award recognizes and supports excellence in American heraldry.

Established in 2006, the American Heraldry Society’s annual Design Award is named in honor of Pierre de Chaignon la Rose (1872-1941), the great American heraldic designer who in many ways was responsible for advancing the art and science of heraldry in the US during the early 20th Century.  The purpose of the award is to encourage and support excellence in American heraldry by recognizing coats of arms that provide the bearer with a strong public identity embodying the best heraldic design of the highest form, function, and aesthetic.

Prospective nominees are corporate bodies from academic, military, civic, religious, or social organizations whose coat of arms exemplifies the best in heraldic design. The arms must have been designed in the United States. The designs are nominated by the Society’s membership; finalists are selected by the Board of Governors.

To be eligible for selection, the arms must:

  1. be designed by an artist who is resident in the United States for an institution.
  2. have evidence showing the arms in use by the institution.


  • 2024: The School of Theology, The University of the South
    Sewanee, Tennessee
  • 2023: Kennett Township
    Kennett Township, Pennsylvania
  • 2022: Rice University
    Houston, Texas
  • 2013: City of Fredericksburg
    Fredericksburg, Virginia
  • 2012: St. Thomas More Catholic Chapel and Center at Yale University
    New Haven Connecticut
  • 2010: Diocese of Toledo
    Toledo, Ohio
  • 2009: Shrine of Our Lady of Guadalupe
    LaCrosse, Wisconsin
  • 2008: U.S. Central Intelligence Agency
    Langley, Virginia
  • 2007 – Fall: San Francisco Fog Rugby Football Club
    San Francisco, California
  • 2007 – Spring: Virginia Tech Corps of Cadets
    Blacksburg, Virginia
  • 2006 – Fall: Archdiocese of Baltimore
    Baltimore, Maryland
  • 2006 – Spring: The Governor John R. Rogers High School JROTC
    Puyallup, Washington