Hello - New Member Here

daverham

daverham
Total Posts:  6
Joined  16-10-2013

31 October 2013 14:10

Hi there folks. My eyes have just been opened to the fact that this art form is still alive - and thriving - with such a rich history and huge library of detailed symbolism. How awesome. I see heraldry everywhere now.

I’m a graphic designer and as such have made references to "heraldic" shields and beasts somewhat casually in the past, but am only now digging deeper to try and have a better understanding and maybe bring some authenticity to the occasional mimicry required by my profession.

I bought a big stack of books on the topic.

All this has reminded me that my family is only a generation or two removed from our roots in Liverpool, England and there is supposedly a "Cole family coat of arms" (and a castle as well). Naturally I’m very curious about that. If anyone has any tips for researching such a thing, I’m all ears. Until then, I’ll start poking around the forums for the right place to ask questions.

I’m new to all this so I don’t even know what, if anything, family arms from a few generations (or more) back would have to do with me, to whom exactly they apply - whatever that means - and where to start looking. At the same time, I’m going to open up an Ancestry.com account, as it seems these two topics are inextricably intertwined… like a queue-nowed :D

Thanks for any help anyone can offer. It’s great to see people keeping these traditions alive. I look forward to learning more and hopefully contributing to the conversation myself one day.

Joseph McMillan

Joseph McMillan
Total Posts:  7658
Joined  08-06-2004

31 October 2013 16:08

David,

Welcome to the group.  Sounds like we can expect you to be a great addition!

arriano

arriano
Total Posts:  1303
Joined  20-08-2004

31 October 2013 16:44

Welcome aboard!

Michael F. McCartney

Michael F. McCartney
Total Posts:  3535
Joined  24-05-2004

31 October 2013 17:50

Welcome!