Manual of Ecclesiastical Heraldry

Pelayo

Pelayo
Total Posts:  10
Joined  20-04-2007

30 January 2014 10:53

On February 7, 2014 The Manual of Ecclesiastical Heraldry in the Catholic Church will be presented in Rome.

ANDREA CORDERO LANZA DI MONTEZEMOLO - ANTONIO POMPILI,

Manuale di Araldica Ecclesiastica, nella Chiesa Cattolica,

Libreria Editrice Vaticana, Città del Vaticano, 2014, 208 pp.

http://www.americanheraldry.org/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=1307&stc=1&d=1391096403

http://www.iagiforum.info/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=18205

A. Schrɛnk

A. Schrɛnk
Total Posts:  154
Joined  27-07-2011

31 January 2014 05:57

It should be fascinating to see what this is like. I am currently studying in Rome, so I am going to investigate the details and try to be present for the launch of this book. I will report back on what I find!

Michael F. McCartney

Michael F. McCartney
Total Posts:  3535
Joined  24-05-2004

31 January 2014 18:02

Curious to see Fr Guy’s take on this new book once he’s had time to read & digest it.

If it’s really good, hopefully it will lead to better designs for new clerical arms in the future—I’ve about worn out the keys for "we’ve seen worse"...  smile

(In fairness, we’ve seen some pretty good ones recently, but also others not so much…)

Joseph McMillan

Joseph McMillan
Total Posts:  7658
Joined  08-06-2004

31 January 2014 20:11

Well, Montezemolo is the fellow responsible for inflicting the bastard miter cum tiara on Popes Benedict and Francis, so I wouldn’t hold out much hope for this having any effect on the quality of design.  Anyway, what goes on the shield is not subject to regulation.  I’d bet this is about external additaments, although how that could fill out 208 pages is a bit of a puzzle.

gselvester

gselvester
Total Posts:  2683
Joined  11-05-2004

01 February 2014 14:36