Helm on Established Arms

zebulon

zebulon
Total Posts:  65
Joined  23-12-2013

12 August 2014 15:11

My family has arms that were originally granted in England in the 16th century; they have been very sparsely used since migration to North America, however, I was thinking about getting cuff links made with that design.

I am far from an expert in heraldry, so my questions are ...

(a) am I correct to assume that the issued arms consist of the escutcheon and crest only, and that the type of helm used in the display of arms can be anything the user desires,

(b) if true, would it be heraldically inappropriate to use a Phrygian cap as a helm instead of an actual helmet (I would prefer not to use a helmet that denotes class, if possible, as with the English heraldic helmets); I’ve seen a Phrygian cap used in national arms like Cuba, but am unclear if that is an accurate usage

(c) alternatively, is it appropriate or acceptable to display just the escutcheon without a helmet or crest (or is that the mark of a novice)?

arriano

arriano
Total Posts:  1303
Joined  20-08-2004

12 August 2014 15:34

(a) most likely, yes

(b) yes

(c) yes (no)

zebulon

zebulon
Joined  23-12-2013

12 August 2014 15:38

arriano;102399 wrote:

(a) most likely, yes

(b) yes

(c) yes (no)

Fantastic - thank you so much!

Michael F. McCartney

Michael F. McCartney
Total Posts:  3535
Joined  24-05-2004

12 August 2014 18:29

Ditto earlier response.

So wbhat are the arms?  (Apologies if already posted)

zebulon

zebulon
Joined  23-12-2013

12 August 2014 18:34

Michael F. McCartney;102405 wrote:

Ditto earlier response.

So wbhat are the arms?  (Apologies if already posted)

sable on a fess or between three cinquefoils ermine; lion passant Gules between two mullets of the field - the crest is a demi-lion rampant Gules holding a mullet sable in the dexter paw ...