A little bit about myself

Cleave

Cleave
Total Posts:  11
Joined  28-08-2013

24 March 2015 11:11

Hi, my name is William Cleave Drummond II but most people just call me Cleave.

I am a freelance graphic artist, painter, and heraldic painter who dabbles in just about everything art related. I first started working with heraldic design in the SCA (Society for Creative Anachronism). I have been a court herald in that organization as well as a research herald, where we would compare designs to make sure that they did not run afoul of real world heraldry. A very daunting task at times. My own arms went through 3 revisions before becoming what you when you look at my profile.

Here is the blazon for that design:

Arms: Per chevron throughout Or and Azure a thistle Argent between three garden roses counterchanged.

Crest: On a Wreath Argent and Azure a crossbow Sable loaded with three flaming arrows conjoined at the nock Or enflamed Gules.

Mantling: Azure doubled Argent

Motto: Na Sir ‘s Na Seachain An Cath (Neither seek nor shun the fight)

I have also had this registered with the US Heraldic Registry: http://www.usheraldicregistry.com/index.php?n=Registrations.20150203H

I am also currently a member of IAAH ( International Association of Amateur Heralds)

Joseph McMillan

Joseph McMillan
Total Posts:  7658
Joined  08-06-2004

24 March 2015 12:11

Very attractive arms, but I think I’d blazon them simply "per chevron" since the point doesn’t extend to the top of the shield.  Is there a reason for "throughout?"

(And welcome to the group!)

Cleave

Cleave
Joined  28-08-2013

24 March 2015 12:48

Actually the point is supposed to be all the way to the top. I am working on a repainting of the design

Joseph McMillan

Joseph McMillan
Total Posts:  7658
Joined  08-06-2004

24 March 2015 14:19

Ah, I see.  The design will work better that way—the thistle will be less cramped.

arriano

arriano
Total Posts:  1303
Joined  20-08-2004

24 March 2015 16:17