Designing a COA: Where to Begin?

CinncinatusVirginius

CinncinatusVirginius
Total Posts:  5
Joined  28-05-2016

08 June 2016 20:22

Hello all:

I’m new to the AHS, having come here through my interest in Maj. Edward Dale as an armiger (also my ancestor).

I am involved in Scouting in the U.S. which has it’s own unique heraldic emblem.  I’ve been asked to serve on the program committee, known as Roundtable.  I was given a patch designating me as a "Knight of the Roundtable".  I’d like to design a COA to go with that.

I have ideas for the motifs/symbols (please forgive me for not being familiar with heraldic language yet), but need help designing.  What tips would have you provide?  This is just for fun, something to decorate certificates, put on patches, awards, and make it a fun experience.

Joseph McMillan

Joseph McMillan
Total Posts:  7658
Joined  08-06-2004

08 June 2016 22:27

Hello, Josh.  Welcome to the society.

A few questions to get started.

- Are you thinking of this as a personal coat of arms for yourself, or perhaps a coat of arms for the scouting organization itself?  Usually a coat of arms would be thought of as belonging to someone (a person or group of people) rather than merely a free-floating decorative design.

-  From the Facebook discussion, I got the impression that you’re somewhere in the Richmond area.  If the proposed coat of arms is for the scout organization, where exactly is it located?  Richmond proper, one of the surrounding counties?  It might be useful to incorporate local heraldic or quasi-heraldic symbols, if they exist.

- It’s been a while since my son was in Boy Scouts, and I don’t remember whether Roundtable is at the district or council level.  Either way, you might want to consider designing arms for the appropriate level body.  Then it would make perfect sense to have it on certificates, etc.  It could also be used more broadly by the district or council.

CinncinatusVirginius

CinncinatusVirginius
Joined  28-05-2016