Political PAC coat of arms

Mark Olivo

Mark Olivo
Total Posts:  536
Joined  23-02-2005

09 August 2006 04:26

I’ve never seen apolitical special interest group with a coat of arms before, but here it is…

http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/508/cathcitizenship3it6.gif

But then again they are closely affiliated with one of the best practitioners of heraldry in the US, the church.  Thy call themselves Catholic Citizenship.  The website for this group is @

http://www.catholicvote.org/index.php

James Dempster

James Dempster
Total Posts:  602
Joined  20-05-2004

09 August 2006 09:09

I’m not an expert on the finer nuances of symbolism in the Catholic Church so there may be some apalling "howlers" in there, but at first glance it’s not a particularly bad coat of arms. What it does illustrate very well why the "rule" of not putting colour on colour is a good idea.

The torch (presumably for education) and the scales (presumably justice) are reasonably clear because the black is fairly solid, but the acorn and oak leaves (growth/nurture?) and the figure, being outline drawings, are very difficult to discern. I had to peer closer to the screen of my computer to work things out.

The dove is somewhat better because black outline has good contrast on gold but again could look better if more "solid".

Given the field is quite a dark colour, which I suppose could be called murrey if we’re looking for a heraldic tincture, the torch, scales and oak could be much improved by all being Or, the torch flamed Proper.

Since I’m not at all sure whom the figure represents I’m not going to comment on how he should be correctly depicted but describing him as proper and giving him white robes and natural skin colour would be an improvement.

James

Donnchadh

Donnchadh
Total Posts:  4101
Joined  13-07-2005

09 August 2006 12:27

Quote:

But then again they are closely affiliated with one of the best practitioners of heraldry in the US, the church.

Who is that Mark?

gselvester