Jumping in with both feet…

Jim Pelletier

Jim Pelletier
Total Posts:  40
Joined  20-06-2006

22 June 2006 19:11

Well, here goes…

I am very new to heraldry in general, and to designing it in particular.  The real drive to get this deep into the art was the death of my two nephews, born 16 weeks early.  (I’ll place the link to my blog about them at the bottom.  If you choose to visit, it pulls no punches and it was/is therapy for me…)

Any way, in trying to come to grips with their deaths and come up with some way to remember them I decided to emblazon joint arms for them.

http://www.worcesterems.com/DKSN/Images/Sam+Nate2-1.png

This is the first version.  Blazoning the arms I think I can handle, but the crest has me stumped as to how to describe the twin bulls’ heads. (Based on a "family crest" my brother-in-law’s family has a photocopy of which shows a bull passant.)

Shield: Quarterly, 1st and 4th Sable the Constellation Gemini Argent, 2nd Azure a fleur-de-lis of the Second, 3rd Or a lion rampant Gules armed and langued of the Third.

Motto: Ne Cede Malis - Don’t give in to Misfortune

My Dad’s family is French-Canadian and my brother-in-law’s is Scottish (among others, I picked one), hence the fleur-de-lis and rampant lion.  I probably screwed up the First, Second, Third, but…

I later changed the representation of Gemini to the astronomical symbol for the constellation:

http://www.worcesterems.com/DKSN/Images/Sam+Nate-1.png

Then I went really nuts and added some supporters:

http://www.worcesterems.com/DKSN/Images/Sam+Nate3-1.png

The supporters bear the "house flag" I came up with for my sister and brother-in-law, based on their coat-of-arms.  Probably not vexillogically correct either, but… (I had a lot of bereavement time that week.)

So all that led me here, and seeing everyone’s incredible arms led to create my own:

http://www.worcesterems.com/DKSN/Images/Jim-8-1.png