Masonic Lodge blazon help

Jeremy K. Hammond

Jeremy K. Hammond
Total Posts:  1914
Joined  22-02-2016

24 August 2006 14:49

Can someone with a bit more experience tell me if they feel the blazon I have come up with is correct or not.  If not, please feel to correct.

http://kiteandkey.griffithweb.com/Shield.png

Shield:

Per Fesse four points Gules and Or two keys in Saltire all counter-changed in chief two Masonic compass and squares Or

Patrick Williams

Patrick Williams
Total Posts:  1356
Joined  29-07-2006

24 August 2006 15:36

Yay! Something I’m a bit of an expert in (freemasonry!).

It looks pretty good, but I have the following questions:

Where is the Lodge? If in an English speaking country other than England then the letter G would most correctly appear in the space enclosed by the square and compasses. And, btw, it is correctly "squares and compasses" in that order. The compasses are always plural.

How did you select the color scheme? The Ancient Craft Lodges that use the square and compasses as a symbol are called ‘Blue Lodges’ (except those from the ancient French constitutions which are ‘Red Lodges’) and gold metal is reserved for the use of a Grand Lodge, not one of its constituent Lodges. I’d suggest Azure & Argent. Additionally, the crossed keys are the universal Masonic jewel for the treasurer of the Lodge and so if I saw this one in use, I’d assume that it was the arms of a Grand Treasurer of some Masonic jurisdiction, which would be strange. Or are they canting arms for a particular lodge?

Patrick Williams

Patrick Williams
Joined  29-07-2006

24 August 2006 15:41

Ooops, you just asked about the blazon…sorry. "Squares & Compasses" please. But the points of the compasses need to be above the square. The symbol you’re showing is the mark of an apprentice, not a Master Mason.

Jeremy K. Hammond

Jeremy K. Hammond
Joined  22-02-2016

24 August 2006 16:08