Need some direction

loaba

loaba
Total Posts:  138
Joined  27-11-2006

27 November 2006 01:24

I’m new to this forum and heraldry in general. I think I have devised a technically correct Coat of Arms. I was hoping I could get some thoughts on the design. Thanks in advance.

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y249/loaba/DominguezCoA.jpg

Donnchadh

Donnchadh
Total Posts:  4101
Joined  13-07-2005

27 November 2006 01:35

loaba what is the inspiration behind the arms?

is it just that you like the design or is there some other meaning behind the charges?

i guess what i’m asking is ... is there a personal touch to the arms or is it merely an attractive design?

if it is the former that is one thing and can be good heraldry ... but as an artist i can assure you that if it is the later you will eventually grow tired of the design and want to scrap it and move on to something else (like after your ‘fridge test’) ... and if that is the case it is bad heraldry ...  no matter how attractive a design might be ...

loaba

loaba
Joined  27-11-2006

27 November 2006 01:40

Well, it’s a little of both. The color scheme is based off of one of the coat of arms for my family name, Dominguez (though I have no way of knowing if said arms apply to my branch of the family). About the only piece that has any real meaning to me is the six crosses (one for each immediate family member).

If I were more comfortable with the terminology I would say more.

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y249/loaba/dominguez.jpg

^This is what I am using as my initial guide and to be honest I don’t really like those colors… I believe there is another Dominguez coat that has a green field and two chained towers that I like much better, can’t find a picture though.

J Duncan of Sketraw

J Duncan of Sketraw
Total Posts:  271
Joined  15-01-2006

27 November 2006 02:17

What about this for a thought and keep the 2 colours separate

http://www.heraldry-scotland.co.uk/forumpics/Dominguez.jpg

Linusboarder