Bulk of Arms Completed

loaba

loaba
Total Posts:  138
Joined  27-11-2006

15 January 2007 02:09

Okay, I’m done with all the major parts of my CoA. It certainly took long enough, and I pretty much bombarded you guys with every single iteration. I’m sure that got more than a bit tedious, my apologies!

What I’ve settled on is all mine, I pretty much came to it on my own terms. But that’s not to say your criticisms fell on deaf ears either.

So here it is…

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y249/loaba/RampantRat25Adj7.png

Crest: rampant demi-rat sable - I’d talked about various styles of eagles, but it wasn’t until I started playing around with the bull that it suddenly came to me to use a rat instead. I was born in August, 1972, the year of the rat. And while the eastern zodiac doesn’t have too much to do with western heraldry, I’ve decided that since I have always identified with the rat it should be represented here. So there it is, I’m not remotely asian, but my crest is a rat. I like it. smile

Helm: pot helm - pretty standard, and I guess I like it for that reason alone. Not much to say beyond that really.

Torse and Mantle: both are pretty rough and I will be working on smoothing ‘em out, but the design is set. What started out as a shortcut turned out to be pretty neat looking, to me anyway.

Shield: Vert on a bend Or a bendlet Sable charged with six crosses fleury palewise Argent - this was the hardest part of the whole endeavor, but in the end I chose what was right for me. My family loves the color scheme and the six crosses represent faith and each member of the family.

So there ya go, obviously there are few more things to do, but the core of the design is complete. Thanks everyone who helped!

Edit: one of the little things I’m working on is getting the angle of the arms correct - thanks Duncan. Edited mantle per Guy.

ESmith

ESmith
Total Posts:  550
Joined  15-11-2005

15 January 2007 03:02

loaba wrote:

Crest: rampant demi-rat sable ...