A New Project

Jonathan R. Baker

Jonathan R. Baker
Total Posts:  625
Joined  27-03-2007

17 August 2007 11:48

Greetings, Everyone!

Most probably know this already, but I work as a security guard at my university.  Yesterday, I met with my new boss to discuss improvements for the department.  I suggested a specific unit insignia, and mentioned my interest in heraldry.  He really liked the idea, and asked me to come up with a few ideas to bring to him.  I’d like to present a few different designs.  So, I am posting here for some assistance.  Any ideas are welcome.  I will include some information below to help the design process alone.

School Colors—Maroon (Sanguine), White, and Navy Blue.

School Team Name—The Flames

School Seal:

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y155/jonishairy/Heraldry/Stuff010.jpg

Now, we are not police officers.  We are unarmed security guards, so I would like to steer clear of stereotypical law enforcement insignia.  I will work on some ideas over the next couple of days, and I will post them as I can get them rendered.

Heraldry does not feature very prominently on campus.  The quasi-heraldic seal is about the only official heraldry in use.  Hopefully, this might spark an interest on campus.

PBlanton

PBlanton
Total Posts:  808
Joined  06-11-2005

17 August 2007 16:32

JRB,

What a C:cool::cool:L project! I would assume that the school was named after General Robert E. Lee? If so, could I suggest the Lee arms augmented with an escutcheon Argent and a flame Gules (to represent the school team)? So you would have:

Arms: Quarterly 1 and 4 Gules, a fesse chequy Or and Azure between ten billets Argent, four in chief, and three, two and one in base, and 2 and 3 Azure a cinqfoil pierced Ermine within a bordure engrailed of the second, overall upon an escutcheon Argent a flame Gules

To finish off the patch you could write "Lee University" above and "Security" below in maroon on white.

Just a thought. :D

Take care,

Dcgb7f

Dcgb7f