Dotting the i’s, crossing the t’s.

DJensen

DJensen
Total Posts:  29
Joined  16-08-2006

23 August 2007 11:08

I have, at long last :snail: , managed to weasel a motto out of my grandfather, and I think I’m ready to go ahead and register arms in his name.  I was hoping you guys could take a look at it and offer corrections to the blazon, and maybe suggestions on a crest and badge.

Here’s what I have:

Shield:

Per fess 1) gules, four points conjoined in the center of the fessline argent 2) gules, a half cross argent coming out of the fessline

Crest:

A sphinx couchant or holding in its dexter forepaw a question mark terminating in a lightning flash azure

Motto:

Victory Through Vigilance

Badge:

A sphinx couchant or holding in its dexter forepaw a torch argent enflamed gules

As a sketch artist, I am truly second rate.  Much more than straight lines presents a problem, but, as luck would have it, the shield has nothing but!  This is what I had in mind:

http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/2089/halfgyronny4yr8.th.gif

I’m looking for:

1)  Verification that the blazon for the shield is right.  I used what Ton gave me, but I always like to make sure I have it right.

2)  Suggestions for/critiques of the crest and badge, both blazon and design.  I like what I have, but this is my first attempt at this, and I’ve seen too many good ideas from the regulars of this forum to not at least see what ideas others might have.  Additionally, my blazoning is like my french - I can understand quite a bit, but only communicate simple ideas, so any help is appreciated.

What won’t change:

1)  The shield, for the most part.  I’m still flitting between three, four, and five points in the upper half (can’t form an opinion), but otherwise, it’s set.

2)  The question mark/lightning flash element (from his Army uniform) was the only requirement grandpa gave me, so that stays in the crest somehow.

3)  The motto.