Blazon question

Kenneth Mansfield

Kenneth Mansfield
Total Posts:  2518
Joined  04-06-2007

28 December 2007 11:42

It seems like I have read on this forum (at some time in the past) the term for an ordinary (or sub-ordinary or charge) that extends all the way to the top and bottom of the shield, but I cannot find that reference again. I have found a term online (indicated in italic below) that may suffice, so please help me get the blazon correct for these arms…. smile

Shield: Vert, a barrulet dancetty per long Argent, on a chief Gules, a Celtic cross between two mullets of seven points Or.

Crest: a groundhog holding a sprig of long-leaf pine proper.

Comments on the design are welcome also. This is my first attempt at creating arms for myself.

Dohrman Byers

Dohrman Byers
Total Posts:  760
Joined  02-08-2007

28 December 2007 12:19

I’ve never seen blazoned "a barrulet dancetty per long" and wouldn’t know how to draw one, if I had only such a blazon. I think I would blazon these arms: Vert four piles palewise throughout conjoined in chief Argent voided of the field on a chief Gules a Celtic cross between two mullets of seven points Or.

Michael F. McCartney

Michael F. McCartney
Total Posts:  3535
Joined  24-05-2004

28 December 2007 20:01

Fr. Byers’ approach is likely technically correct but doesn’t produce a quick, clear mental image, at least to my sometimes slow and cloudy mind.  I would prefer "a barrulett dancetty throughout of (#) points to chief and # to base"—though IM O it would be better to draw the barrulet a bit wider so it would show better in small scale or at a distance.  The "long" version is new to me and not IMO particularly useful.

Donnchadh

Donnchadh
Total Posts:  4101
Joined  13-07-2005

28 December 2007 22:55

is that a demi-groundhog or a full one? if it is full i can’t tell. if it is demi then it is OK it just needs to be called demi. unless my monitor is off somehow…let me know. smile