The arms for Reverend Father Paul M. Parkerson

Alex Kurov

Alex Kurov
Total Posts:  35
Joined  24-05-2006

12 February 2008 17:16

Dear colleagues,

Let me introduce my new work. It is the arms for Reverend Father Paul M. Parkerson, USA.

Father Parkerson has informed me on himself, in particular: "My family was originally from Sweden and England and migrated to the New World in the 1740’s. My ancestors have fought in all the great early wars of this country including the American Revolution and the War between the States (on the southern side, of course). My background is Protestant, but I became a Roman Catholic in college deciding to enter the priesthood after the university. My fields of study were French, philosophy, and history".

However his personal feature which has caused my especial sympathy, is traditionalism. It is shown, in particular, in steady aspiration of Father Parkerson to revive a High Traditional Latin Mass. And in this aspiration the concept expressed in one of two his mottos especially was useful to him: "Melius frangi quam flecti"  (To be break is better than to be bent).

You can see first and main his motto in a picture. It is from Luke 5:39: "And no man drinking old, hath presently a mind to new: for he said, the old is better" (VETUS MELIUS EST).

It was the first arms for the Catholic priest which I has created as the author (in case of dear Father Guy Selvester I worked as the artist-interpreter only). And it was not easy! I have spent a lot of time for considering of various suitable motifs, but the push to a discovery has given me Father Parkerson when he has informed me (under my request) on one of the favorite Christian stories: it was the story of St. Francis and the wolf of Gubbio. This plot I have based on the arms composition.

Why? Because I wanted to reflect in the arms the credo of Father Parkerson – the traditionalism. But it is too extensive concept with set of components.