US Heraldic Registry or American College of…

House of gaels

House of gaels
Total Posts:  37
Joined  23-09-2009

27 October 2009 10:25

Greetings, This is my first post here.

I am an artist trying to starting a business specializing in heraldry particularly in the U.S. My initial idea was that I wanted to create a Coat of Arms for my own family of far higher quality than the clip art stuff that was out there, while researching I didn’t expect to find the amount of fraudulent bucket shops selling crap COA’s. So I decided to try to take up the cause of educating people about this which led me here. My only question is that I wanted to create a package deal of blazoning new arms and then doing the artwork and registering it for people. I was wondering if anyone had any experience with the American College of Heraldry or the US Heraldic Registry?

Also, I was hoping to get anyone’s advice in general. I would like to Help The American Heraldry Societies mission to raise the level of awareness to combat these phony companies out there, I am trying to study this subject and finish my website in the coming months. Hopefully there is a market for a real heraldic artist rather than cut and paste clip art companies out there.

Any thoughts?

- Andrew

House of Gaels

Joseph McMillan

Joseph McMillan
Total Posts:  7658
Joined  08-06-2004

27 October 2009 11:23

The American College of Heraldry does provide emblazonments of arms as part of their registration documents and may well be in need of a good American heraldic artist.  They and we are on friendly, collegial terms with some overlap in membership, but not affiliated with one another, so you’d need to contact them directly about possible commissions.

The USHR is a one-man (Michael Swanson) operation and I think he does all the emblazoning himself.