Getting started

beaverus

beaverus
Total Posts:  3
Joined  06-06-2011

19 June 2011 00:49

Hello,

I am new to heraldry and have no background knowledge on the customs and laws. Does anyone have a good recommendation where to start learning the rules, be it a book or website?

Thanks, all help is much appreciated!

David Pope

David Pope
Total Posts:  559
Joined  17-09-2010

19 June 2011 00:53
Brad Smith

Brad Smith
Total Posts:  182
Joined  12-02-2009

20 June 2011 14:26

Welcome!

David has pointed you in the right direction, especially regarding American heraldry.  May I recommend "Boutell’s Heraldry"?  You can find a used copy on abebooks.com for not much money.  Be sure to get one of the more recent editions (the most recent is 1983), and don’t get a "print on demand" edition.

Kathy McClurg

Kathy McClurg
Total Posts:  1274
Joined  13-03-2009

20 June 2011 15:16

If you have a Kindle (or the Kindle app on one of your electronic devices) take a look at the Kindle store, search heraldry and sort lowest to highest - there is The handbook to english heraldry by Boutell and a few others - completely free.

The Google EBook Store also has free books on heraldry you can download….

j.carrasco

j.carrasco
Total Posts:  639
Joined  20-04-2011

20 June 2011 15:24

Kathy McClurg;85091 wrote:

If you have a Kindle (or the Kindle app on one of your electronic devices) take a look at the Kindle store, search heraldry and sort lowest to highest - there is The handbook to english heraldry by Boutell and a few others - completely free.

The Google EBook Store also has free books on heraldry you can download….