Help - blazon of Springer arms

Massey Artist

Massey Artist
Total Posts:  4
Joined  14-07-2006

14 July 2006 13:09

Hello, I am new to Heraldry.  I have taken upon task for our family Coat of Arms.  As I am an Artist I wanted to paint it in its full color.  I have pretty much translated the Blazon but need the extra help in putting all together.  I need your expertise if anyone is willing.  The Blazon is as Follows:

"Ecartele: aux 1 et 4, de sable, a un cerf elance d’or, soutenu d’un tertre de sinople; aux 2 et 3, d’argent, a la fasce d’azur. Casque couronne."

Then it describes the crest:

"Le cerf, issuant, entre un vol coupe, a dextre de sable su or, a sen. D’arg sur azur.

I would so appreciate any help!

Sincere thanks,

massey artist:)

Michael Swanson

Michael Swanson
Total Posts:  2462
Joined  26-02-2005

14 July 2006 15:39

The person mentioned in the following quote, Mr. Appleton (a member of this society), provided the graphic of the arms of Springer of Autriche (see below).  Out of curiosity, did you trace your paternal ancestor to Springer of Autriche?

http://freepages.family.rootsweb.com/~heraldry/heraldry_s.html wrote:

The SPRINGER shield as seen in Rolland & Rolland’s illustrated version of Rietstap’s "Armorial General"...Picture courtesy of David Appleton.

ARMS:..Ecartele, aux 1 et 4, de sable a un cerf elance d’or, soutenu d’un tertre de sinople; aux 2 et 3, d’argent, a la fasce d’azur…Casque couronne.

CREST:..Le cerf, issuant, entre un vol coupe, a dextre de sable sur or, a senestre d’argent sur azur.

MANTLING:..Conformes aux emaux du vol.

NOTE:..This is the only entry for Springer in Rietstap’s "Armorial General", Vol. 2, pg. 815.

http://freepages.family.rootsweb.com/~heraldry/h_springer1.gif# Springer of Autriche

Massey Artist wrote: