Duke University

Michael Swanson

Michael Swanson
Total Posts:  2462
Joined  26-02-2005

02 October 2006 23:48

OK, I am bit stumped on the blazon for Duke University.  The arms seem to break all the rules of good design.  Is it worth blazoning?  Or do we just walk away from it.  (I graduated from Duke, so it is hard for me to do that.)

http://www.stat.duke.edu/~xia/duke.jpg

Let’s give it the old college try.  I’ll start.

Azure. :rolleyes:

Now it is your turn.  What are those pile-like outlines? :confused:

DJensen

DJensen
Total Posts:  29
Joined  16-08-2006

03 October 2006 09:42

A couple a-very-little-knowledge-is-a-dangerous-thing guesses:

A pile azure fimbriated argent?  (The Research Triangle?  A ‘delta’ as the initial for Duke?)

Bendlets in quarters three and four, even though it’s not strictly speaking "quartered"?

Joseph McMillan

Joseph McMillan
Total Posts:  7658
Joined  08-06-2004

03 October 2006 10:09

Somewhere, who knows where, I have an unsatisfactory Duke-sourced description of this.  I seem to recall that they call the little diagonal lines "rays."  Sooooo,

"Azure, on a Latin cross throughout between in chief the letters D and U in Old English script and in base two rays issuant from point pilewise Argent a Latin cross adumbrated Azure and over all in base three billets two and one Argent fimbriated Azure."

The good news for Duke is that UNC-Chapel Hill’s arms, while more easily blazonable, are not much better heraldically:  "Azure (or, for those who prefer, Blue Celeste) a bend between in chief the word LVX and in base LIBERTAS Argent."

Michael Swanson

Michael Swanson
Joined  26-02-2005

03 October 2006 10:41

Joseph McMillan wrote:

"Azure, on a Latin cross throughout between in chief the letters D and U in Old English script and in base two rays issuant from point pilewise Argent a Latin cross adumbrated Azure and over all in base three billets two and one Argent fimbriated Azure."