Blazons of Distant Earth

SeVincit

SeVincit
Total Posts:  1
Joined  10-01-2007

11 January 2007 09:46

Nihao to you all. My name is Jean Mathieu, I’m currently working in China, I’m new, and I figured I’d make my first post a bang.

I’m a writer, by avocation, and especially of science fiction. In conversation with other science fiction buffs, we’ve often discussed spacesuits and spacecraft in time of war. In the event of a signal jam, outed communications equipment, or other numerous events impeding electronic identification, how would the men identify one another?

The answer, of course, is that the question has come up before: knights in armor are just as unidentifiable as men in spacesuits. And their solution was heraldry. This got me thinking…what kind of heraldry would the Space Force and all the spacers out there *have*? Would the old institutions and laws of heraldry be revived, perhaps shaken out a bit, and applied to the new circumstances? Or would an entirely new heraldric tradition spring up?

And of what would that tradition consist? We have, of course, Asimov’s "spaceship-and-sun" of the Galactic Empire, and the crests of Houses Atreides, Harkonnen, and Corrino in Herbert’s Dune books. I’ve experimented a bit this way myself, with the sign of the Militant Space Archaeologists being the "spade-and-sun," but I know there’s plenty of untapped potential there. What symbols and what laws of heraldry do you see being invoked or invented for identifying the other fellow in a spacesuit with a big railgun? Where the blazes to you put a coat of arms if you don’t have a shield? How similar or different would such a system be to the heraldry system we inherited from medieval nobility?

And have I *completely* bored you yet?

Linusboarder

Linusboarder
Total Posts:  732
Joined  20-08-2006

11 January 2007 10:13

SeVincit wrote:

And have I *completely* bored you yet?