I have many questions

mike_mal

mike_mal
Total Posts:  13
Joined  10-07-2006

11 August 2006 15:22

I’m still a noob, and I was wondering:

Where do we in the us register arms?

What’s the point if there’s no legal process?

Would these be legal to have say on a tat/shirt if one traveled to europe?

Would It be proper to have a separate crest to note ties to a group, or to add a badge/slogan/motto?(by ties to a group, I mean a group one takes pride in, that’s not military per se (E.G. church, militias, societies, etc. )

Would it be bad etiquette to get arms as a tattoo?

Should inheritance be done with a crest change only, a shield change, or what?

If my maternal arms had a helmet argent in profile and my father had no arms, what would that make my helmet?(not sure on this one in more than one way)

Does anyone know A good site to search arms by name and/or surname?(before you chew me out. this is for design research only)

Where do you guys learn this stuff? It’s fascinating, and I’d love to make my studies of heraldry serious (though not a career)

Thanks, (and apologies).

Madalch

Madalch
Total Posts:  792
Joined  30-09-2005

11 August 2006 15:36

mike_mal wrote:

Would these be legal to have say on a tat/shirt if one traveled to europe?

You may use your arms all you want while travelling through wherever you want- if you actually start to reside in a country with heraldic laws (such as Scotland), then you’d have to start obeying them.  Nobody worries about tourists.

Quote:

Yes.  It would be akin to declaring yourself to be your own personal property, which would be odd.

Quote:

If my maternal arms had a helmet argent in profile and my father had no arms, what would that make my helmet?

Helmets in most jurisdictions are generally uncontrolled, so you may choose whatever helmet you wish.

Cheers,

Michael Swanson

Michael Swanson
Total Posts:  2462
Joined  26-02-2005

11 August 2006 15:45

mike_mal wrote:

Where do we in the us register arms?