Coat of Arms First Draft…

Terry

Terry
Total Posts:  419
Joined  07-01-2008

12 January 2008 13:42

Hi All,

A couple days ago when I joined the forum, my thought was to reflect my heritage.  A response from Colin stating that I can have an american style arms got me thinking back to a design I have had in mind for many years.  With this thought I went to work on putting it into graphical form since my ability to explain myself and ideas in blazon are limited if not non existent.  The image below I am sure will seem a bit clipartish…that is because I am not an artist so I had to hunt and clip to find stuff….sorry.

Here are the reasons and meanings of each item to me.

The chequy Azure and Argent - displays my connection to Clan Stewart.  It is a long story that I will gladly share if anyone is interested.  But the base is my birth last name is a Sept of Clan Stewart.  I even got married kilted smile

Your comments, thoughts and advise are very welcome.

werewolves

werewolves
Total Posts:  477
Joined  14-08-2007

12 January 2008 14:00

Possibly:

Sanguine above an elephant statant bearing on it’s back a tower, a rose Argent, a tierce chequy Azure and Argent

Terry

Terry
Joined  07-01-2008

12 January 2008 14:02

lol - yours makes far more sense then my backwards jumble of confusion smile  I’m learning thou.  Thank you!

Dcgb7f

Dcgb7f
Total Posts:  516
Joined  07-07-2007

12 January 2008 21:51

I’ve never dealt with a tierce before, but I would imagine it be better to list the tierce first. I think a tierce is a primary charge like fess or a pale, and so is listed first before the secondary charges. Even if it isn’t, it’s still better to start on the dexter side and work left, rather than start left and jump right. Terry, be sure to specify colours for he elephant and tower. As for the rose, I believe "barbed and seeded proper" needs to be tacked on.