A newbie looking for some blazon guidance

Dale Challener Roe

Dale Challener Roe
Total Posts:  453
Joined  19-03-2008

20 March 2008 11:20

I’m new to the forum and anxious to get to learning.  To that end, I’m looking for some guidance in blazoning this Emblem.  It’s the emblem for the Pipe & Drum band, of which I am a student member.

I’m not even sure what to call it.  Some posts I’ve seen have called this type of design a badge, but some books I have seem to consider badges to be something completely different.

I’m not really looking for someone to give me the blazon (Because what fun would that be?), but there are some specific questions I have regarding this design that I simply can’t find the answers to.

BTW, I’m not trying to get the blazon to register it (though that might happen later).  I’m creating the blazon to include on a plaque we are giving out pipe major.  I understand that it does not follow some of the rules of design, but I have no control over the design

Basic Question:  What are the rules for blazoning something that it not a shield?

Flag Question: Do I describe the elements of the NC State Flag, or do I just use the describe the inner design as a whole by calling it "The Flag of the State of North Carolina"?

Ringed Text: How does one go about including the text and the small "icons" within what I assume is an annulet?

Any help to get me moving would be much appreciated.

Dale C. Roe

James Dempster

James Dempster
Total Posts:  602
Joined  20-05-2004

20 March 2008 11:53

The badge is interesting because it appears to have a number of (deliberate?) mistakes.

The crowned "star" backing is normally called a "Garter Star" and is typical of badges of British police forces and a few regiments or corps, see below for the Royal Army Service Corps

http://www.lionelbeck.net/img/ns/rascbadge.gif