Help with non standard design

kimon

kimon
Total Posts:  1035
Joined  28-03-2008

30 March 2008 20:49

As a newbie in heraldry and working on ideas to create my own coat of arms, I have a question with a design that I would like to include on my shield but it’s a) a non standard design and b) have no clue how to describe it accurately, let alone blazon it.

A jpeg version of the design is:

http://www.andreou.org/sciklops.jpg

It’s a drawing of my own design and have been using to mark my books, etc. for at least a decade. To me, it represents my online "handle" of "sciklops" I’ve been using for almost 20 years in technical forums, irc, etc. It’s like a sci-fi cyclopean eye.

Anyway, any help provided in blazoning this image would MOST appreciated.

Thanks!

David Pritchard

David Pritchard
Total Posts:  2058
Joined  26-01-2007

30 March 2008 22:26

There must be something more important in one’s life than the attachment to one’s on-line pseudonym? When one’s only inspiration for a coat-of-arms is a pseudonym, one should re-examine the building blocks that make a meaningful life. e.g. family, religious faith, pastimes, profession, military or naval service, and so forth and so on.

You proposed design looks like a poor corporate logo for the Vendor’s Surveillance Corp. I can see it clearly now on the side of a white maintenance van parked outside of a shopping mall.

I realise that you are new to the field of heraldry but surely you should have read more of the posts here on the forum before proposing such a wanting design. Many of us here have spent hundreds if not thousands of hours reading and researching the concepts of heraldry and thus find logos submitted as heraldic devices to be very disturbing and an insult to our studies.

Would like to start afresh? I would happily assist you with an heraldic design, if you so desired.

MohamedHossam

MohamedHossam
Total Posts:  967
Joined  03-12-2006

30 March 2008 22:50