Arms in memory of late Mother

Jeff Poole

Jeff Poole
Total Posts:  138
Joined  07-03-2009

08 June 2009 03:53

As I am new to this Society and forum I’m not sure if this is the place for this post or if I have the procedure right, but I’m sure I will be corrected if I have it wrong.

I am very seriously thinking about Arms in memory of my late Birth Mother, Kay Sayer nee Bailey. Kay was an only child and a Nurse her entire working life in Australia and also nursed in Khartoum in The Sudan in the 1950’s and 60’s during the civil war as well as the Solomon Islands. She finished her career as the Director of Nursing at a Sydney Hospital, and was the secretary of several organizations over a period of years.

The Arms I have initially devised can be Blazoned as follows

Arms: Argent five Maltese Crosses Azure in Saltire

Crest: on a mound a Secretary Bird Vert charged with an eight pointed estoile Or supporting with the dexter foot a Maltese Cross Azure.

My reasoning for the design is as follows:

In the Arms Argent and Azure represent Nursing as do the Maltese Crosses. The five crosses in saltire represent Australia as a stylized Southern Cross.

In the Crest the Secretary Bird represents both the Sudan and her secretarial activities, the Maltese cross for nursing and the estoile, and Vert and Or for Australia

All comments and suggestions welcome

Cheers

Jeff

Patrick Williams

Patrick Williams
Total Posts:  1356
Joined  29-07-2006

08 June 2009 09:40

Jeff, that’s a very interesting blazon. While I have not found it already in use, I can’t imagine that it would not be ... somewhere. It’s just too simple to have been overlooked. But who knows? It may have been overlooked just because of its simplicity.

Oh ... I think the blazon should be: " ... five Maltese crosses in saltire azure." The color always comes last, after all.

Patrick Williams

Patrick Williams
Joined  29-07-2006

08 June 2009 10:19