Shield Designs

J. Stolarz

J. Stolarz
Total Posts:  1483
Joined  30-11-2007

30 August 2009 11:02

kimon;71362 wrote:

I like #5 and #6 the most. However, #8 has a familiar quality I just can’t put my finger on….

Haha…yes yes, I admit I was looking at your arms when I did #8.  I figured I’d try it out since your arms has always been one of my favorites I’ve seen around here.

John Mck;71364 wrote:

Which graphics program do you use, btw?

Oddly, I’ve found that fireworks, a web graphics program, is just about perfect for heraldry. The objects are vector, but render in the screen as raster. It sounds weird but it works well.

I use Jasc Paint Shop Pro 8, I’ve been using it for many years.  I’ve never even heard of Fireworks haha.  I do have Photoshop Elements 7, but I’m not very practiced with it.

Kenneth Mansfield

Kenneth Mansfield
Total Posts:  2518
Joined  04-06-2007

30 August 2009 11:33

I think I like the one from the other thread best. And you’ve stuck to your guns thus far on the chevronnels, and in the face of so much opposition. I think you are required to include them at this point. wink

J. Stolarz

J. Stolarz
Joined  30-11-2007

30 August 2009 11:58

Well I do really like the look the chevronnels give…and I have tried other things but when I look at them, they’re just…kinda there if you know what I mean.  So I think I will ultimately stick with the chevronnels…just don’t know what color scheme to go with anymore haha.  Thanks for the support though smile

I think I’m going to attempt the fridge tactic haha.

J. Stolarz

J. Stolarz
Joined  30-11-2007

30 August 2009 13:05

Another thing is…when you actually put it on the coat of arms…the black does set off the raven.  Yes on this example I flipped the vert and the sable.

http://i127.photobucket.com/albums/p122/BrokenChainsX/WolfRaven.png

John Mck

John Mck
Total Posts:  151
Joined  12-07-2009

30 August 2009 14:03

You are right about the sable in the ful achievement - it works well.