US Heraldic Registry or American College of…

emrys

emrys
Total Posts:  852
Joined  08-04-2006

28 October 2009 11:31

these are really good :p but when your paint a coa I suggest to do it with a white background so the arms pop more, with a black background certain things of a coa look less clear.

About developing an own style look at other heraldic painters and then get inspiration from their paintings. This way you will find style elements you like and can use. Also have a look around this forum there are numerous pictures of heraldic art about.

House of gaels

House of gaels
Total Posts:  37
Joined  23-09-2009

29 October 2009 08:27

Thank You everyone for the kind words. I’ve been making these and others now for a couple of years, to get ready for the launch of my business. I have been praying that I didn’t over-estimate the demand for full blazons here in the U.S. or any country for that matter. It’s just that since I’m on a shoestring budget I am having to learn web-design as well and try to incorporate all of the things I want to say to people about heraldry is all overwhelming, but I’m getting there.

My next move is a full blazon, so when I finish one I’ll post it. In the mean time I’ll join the society here ‘cause I could use advice from you guys. The only thing I know is is that I don’t want my company to come across as certain larger online companies who don’t care at all about true heraldry. I’m trying hard not to name names.

emrys, I have done these on white as well.

James Dempster, I will check out the Scottish Heraldry Society as well. They intimidated me considering how regimented Scotland is with rules pertaining to Heraldry.

Kathy McClurg, I have actually considered doing a couple in leather,carved glass and other mediums, but I just haven’t had the time to get to it yet. Still a bit of a learning curve there.

Again thanks everyone for the kind words!!They mean allot to me getting this off the ground.

- Andrew

House of Gaels

Donnchadh