Some Insight needed

Damien Jax

Damien Jax
Total Posts:  15
Joined  10-02-2010

05 April 2010 11:26

Hello there, I’m a relative beginner when it comes to Heraldry and Genealogy in general. I have been fortunate enough to find some decent resources on the web from where my family came from in France (genealogical societies over there who archive/post old registry books from the region).

In my research, I discovered that a distant relative wrote a book in 1944 about the genealogy of my family. It turns out, they were a branch that came to American around the revolutionary war. My particular branch came to America around 1880-1890 from Belfort, France. In this book, my distant relative wrote to my great-grandfather (who lived in New York at the time). Unfortunately, the whole letter wasn’t published, but it did mention that a coat of arms was registered by my family in Dijon, France. The only problem was, that was the part of the letter that was cut out… so now I’ve been on the hunt for some kind of registry of the arms with no luck. In the letter, though, I found out that my family was French Huguenots and was mentioned in the book French Blood in America (I looked, and could not find a specific reference to my name though).

Doing some digging in the Armorial General this morning, I found an entry for Bart (de). Though my last name is DeBard, it was changed from DeBart sometime in the 1800’s. I was wondering if anyone could provide a little insight and/or translation help into determining if this blason would be applicable to my family or not. Below is a cut/paste of the actual text in addition to a screenshot of the text on Page 122 of the Armorial.

Bart (de) — France. Tiercé en fasce, chaque compartiment

retiercé en fasce d’or, d’azur et d’arg.

Google’s poor attempt at translation:

Bart (of) - France. Tierced fascia, each compartment

retiercé per fess gold, azure and arg

Armorial General’s dictionary of some of the terms: