Design Help for a New Member

tsmith

tsmith
Total Posts:  129
Joined  08-07-2010

21 July 2010 20:52

Greetings!

My name is Travis James Smith and I am a new member of the Society.  I have been interested in heraldry since high school (I am now a 29 year old lawyer) and tried my hand at designing a coat of arms with clipart back in high school, and essentially ended up with an inelegant quartered "lucky charm" design that I never really used.

Know that I am older and wiser wink, I have been working with artist Matthew Alderman to design a suitable and correct coat of arms to assume and use.  Through the process of consulting we have narrowed things down to 3 or 4 blazons and Matthew has done 3 preliminary sketches (I will post the preliminary sketches if somebody would kindly advise me as to the best way to post images to the forum).  I am interested in getting opinions from the many experts here on the various designs to further guide the selection process.

Here are the blazons (any help correcting the blazons for style, clarity, and correctness is greatly appreciated as are comments on how to improve the designs):

Crest:

A demi-gryphon with the foreparts of a peregrine falcon proper holding a cross crosslet fitchy Or.

(If people think it is absolutely absurd to have a gryphon with the foreparts of a peregrine falcon (which I recognize is really some different imaginary beast), I am open other possibilities including simply having a peregrine falcon proper holding the cross, an American Kestrel, a red-tailed hawk, or some other animal characteristic of the American prairies.  Please let me hear your suggestions)

Shield:

1. Erminois a gryphon segreant bleu celeste armed and languered gules holding a portcullis gules a chief semee of roses (or snowflakes) argent.

2. Per fess pean and erminois a gryphon segreant counterchanged Or and sable armed and languered gules holding a portcullis argent two roses argent in chief a rose in point gules.