Design Critique Requested - David Pope Arms

David Pope

David Pope
Total Posts:  559
Joined  17-09-2010

21 January 2011 10:45

Greetings.  I’m new to the AHS and to this site, but have been considering matriculating/ assuming arms for some time.  I’ve taken time to let my ideas gel and have done the “refrigerator test” for about three months with several different designs, concluding with the design below which I like quite well.  At this point I ask for your critique, in the hopes that you may pick up on some things that I’ve missed.

My surname is Pope.  I am not able to document descent from an armiger or a particular known immigrant.  That being said, my best working hypothesis is that my Pope ancestors emigrated from Bristol, England to Virginia in the mid 17th century.  From there they seem to have moved south into Sampson County, North Carolina and ultimately west to Union County, NC, just east of Charlotte in the early 1800s.

I like the idea of canting arms and considering trying to cant on my surname (a pall argent bearing three crosses gules for the pallium?, a mitre?, crossed keys?) before abandoning that route, since all my ideas seemed easily confused with ecclesiastical heraldry or just plain tacky.

My next thought was to use historical grants of arms to those bearing the Pope surname as the basis for my design.  My searches for arms recorded for persons bearing the surname Pope lead me to this page:

http://www.heraldry-online.org.uk/pope/pope-arms.htm

A perusal of these arms shows a common theme of “argent two chevrons/chevronels gules”; frequently with a canton, usually gules; and escallops and griffin heads as charges in one fashion or another.