Contacting the United States Heraldic Registry

Michael F. McCartney

Michael F. McCartney
Total Posts:  3535
Joined  24-05-2004

02 September 2011 11:30

I’m also no lawyer, but hopefully the law would recognize a difference between archiving a copy—essentially an on-line library—vs. taking over operation of the old site, or mining an existing collection to create a new work.  (We had an example of the latter a few years ago, where several of us had to demand that our own arms—and artwork!—be removed from an on-line collection that had collected them from other sites without our permission.)

Of course (I would think, but whadda I know?) there would/should be a difference if the old site somehow charged admission for viewers—in which case we would be robbing the proprietor of income based on his intellectual property.  Seems like that came up a few years back re: on-line access to copyrighted music…  (just musing here, since Michael didn’t charge admission.)

J. Stolarz

J. Stolarz
Total Posts:  1483
Joined  30-11-2007

02 September 2011 11:41

I agree that if there was a charge to see the arms, and I then copied them all and made them available for free, then it would be ripping the original host off.  But then we still come down to the fact that I would need permission from each armiger to display their arms in a new armorial, seeing as that is part of their property.

Joseph McMillan

Joseph McMillan
Total Posts:  7658
Joined  08-06-2004

02 September 2011 20:02

I’m not a lawyer, as I said, but as someone who has produced quite a lot of free content on the web, it pisses the hell out of me when someone lifts it and uses it without my permission. The creator of a work does not have to suffer financial harm for theft of intellectual property to be wrong.

David Fofanoff

David Fofanoff
Total Posts:  213
Joined  03-05-2011

02 September 2011 20:36

Joseph McMillan;87463 wrote: