Hello all!

Robert Blackard

Robert Blackard
Total Posts:  117
Joined  22-01-2012

04 March 2012 14:47

Hello, my name, as you already know, is Robert A. Blackard. I’m new to the world of Heraldry and I would love to learn more about the art of it. At the moment, I’m going to school for my BA in Human Services, so this will be a little hobby of mine, just like Photography. I always had an appreciation for Coat of Arms and they’re meaning behind them. How I understand, they are a form of identification of the individual and of families and how the Coat of Arms expresses them in a visual narrative.

After school, I would like to get my own Coat of Arms commissioned; the hard part is to understand who I am first. Funny question, I know. But how I see it is if the Coat of Arms is going to explain who I am, I want to make sure that I know who I am first. On top of that, I would like to get a new family Coat of Arms. I have found my “Family’s” Coat of Arms and paid for a print, kicking myself now, I wouldn’t have gotten one after learning how shops like that worked. Because of that I can say I have a better understanding of the rules of owning such a device. So, you can say that is another reason why I want to learn more about the history and art of Heraldry.

To show how much I already love Heraldry, I own “Discovering Heraldry” by Jacqueline Fearn, “Coat of Arms” by Andrew Stewart Jamieson, and “Heraldry: Customs, Rules and Styles” by Carl-Alexander von Volborth.  I can say I’m a little over whelmed with the information I have already, but all in good time. I just hope I’m not getting over my head with it all. Fill free to message me about any Heraldry news or upcoming events.

Have a great day! :o

Robert A. Blackard.

j.carrasco

j.carrasco
Total Posts:  639
Joined  20-04-2011

04 March 2012 16:42