My Arms, Final

Kenneth Mansfield

Kenneth Mansfield
Total Posts:  2518
Joined  04-06-2007

12 October 2012 10:34

In the United States, copyright of artwork remains with the artist, but can be transferred to the commissioner. These sorts of details ought to be worked out beforehand, and if fact there is little incentive once a piece is delivered for an artist to transfer it. "Insist" is probably too strong a word, but I don’t know that I would commission an artist without having the copyright transfer to me.

Michael F. McCartney

Michael F. McCartney
Total Posts:  3535
Joined  24-05-2004

12 October 2012 16:35

I would have thought (perhaps wrongly) that the copyright on work commissioned & paid for by a client would belong to the client, just at (I think) the rights to patent an invention created by an employee on company time, as part of one’s employment,  belongs to the employer—but then I’m not a lawyer; and in any case, the relevant laws here & in Rumania may not be the same.

Either way, the both the design and the artwork are excellent!

Two comments:

re: the blazon "Azure an Ash Tree eradicated with three roots transfixed by an Arrow point to sinister Or"—without having seen the emblazonment, I would have assumed that the arrow would transfixed the three roots, rather than the trunk.

Since the location of the arrow is in this case symbolically significant—i.e. not merely a matter of artistic license—maybe "Azure an Ash Tree eradicated with three roots, the trunk transfixed by an Arrow point to sinister Or"—

or possibly "Azure an Ash Tree eradicated with three roots and transfixed by an Arrow point to sinister Or."

Others may have better suggestions.