Where can’t I cant I

QuiQuog

QuiQuog
Total Posts:  97
Joined  10-10-2013

16 July 2014 13:36

Or more precisely, where shouldn’t I cant my name? I’ve been working on creating my arms off and on for a couple of years now and have questions as to where and how to cant.

One thought was to cant it in the motto so I could easily change it. But my latin is non existent so it gets difficult research it in google. Additionally, it doesn’t feel right to have it there. I would rather leave it for a more inspirational message. The obvious place is on the shield, but I haven’t come up with a design that I like.

The cant that I’m using lends itself to the crest very well so that’s what I’m leaning towards, I just don’t know if it’s proper to cant in the crest. My surname is Wiggins and the cant that I’m thinking of is a play on wig. A head of hair seems a natural fit. I like the way it might sound blazoned, "upon a helm…, a head of hare…" but since it’s not always displayed, is it a good palce? Or since it’s not always shown, is it the best place? It could leave the shield alone to go a completly different direction.

Is it common to have the same cant on the shield also? If I do, I feel it should include the "ins" part of wiggins somehow, but I can’t come up with anything that works for that. Would it be better to just have say, a hare rampant in the shield alluding to the main cant in the crest?

arriano

arriano
Total Posts:  1303
Joined  20-08-2004

16 July 2014 17:08

Why not simply use a hare as a primary charge on your shield and leave it at that? It’s rather subtle canting, which I personally like.

Iain Boyd

Iain Boyd
Total Posts:  309
Joined  15-10-2005

16 July 2014 18:57

Dear John,

There is no wrong place to cant.

During the middle ages the cant was on the shield. In more recent times the College of arms seems to restrict canting to the crest.

I use a canting motto. In fact, if I had thought about it at the time, I would use two canting mottoes.