Why do you "do" heraldry?

David Pope

David Pope
Total Posts:  559
Joined  17-09-2010

19 October 2015 16:18

If this has been discussed at length, before, forgive me and point me to the link.

In several recent threads I keep bumping up against the fundamental question of why people (myself and other AHS members included) "do" heraldry?

I pose the question in that way because our involvement goes beyond a purely academic or scholarly interest.  We’re not content to merely study heraldry, read about it, or have beautiful prints of old heraldry on our walls.  Instead we’ve inherited, assumed, registered, or petitioned for grants of our own arms.  We’re not content to be spectators to this sport.  Instead, we’ve decided to become participants.

I’m an amateur history geek.  I tend to read quite a bit, particularly about Elizabethan and Jacobean England and colonial Carolina.  But I’m not a reenactor, or a RenFaire guy.  Why is heraldry a topic where I’m not satisfied to sit on the sidelines?

When I consider these things, Michael and Kathy’s words are in my head~ "Arms in America are only a hereditary visual identifier".

The problem is, I don’t need a visual identifier.  I suspect that most AHS members don’t own a banner of their arms.  If they do, I suspect that it gets flown rarely.  It’s not a practical need that we’re addressing through our use of heraldry.  There are more precise and effective ways to identify oneself than a signet stamp.  My name at the top of custom stationary does a better job of identifying who I am to the reader of my letter than an embossed crest.  I could elaborate further, but I think you understand what I’m getting at.

As I’ve considered my own motivations, there are two that seem to stand out: