Colonial American and Early American Heraldry

Hall/Perdue

Hall/Perdue
Total Posts:  179
Joined  16-12-2006

23 December 2006 11:23

Hello Everyone,

I am new to AHS, so new that I am still labeled as a guest, but believe me, I did join.  I have been interested in heraldry for a while.  I actually had started my own website while the AHS site was still in its infancy.  Fortunately for everyone, this site has developed into more than I could have hoped for my own site.smile  In anycase, one of my projects is to creat an on-line armorial of Colonial and Early American Arms.  I believe in using references.  Accademic research demands references, and in a web environment where misinformation is abundant, I believe even the casual surfer would appreciate them.  My main sources at this time are:

Matthews, John. ed., Matthews American Armory and Blue Book. 1907 New York: Crest Publishing Co., 1962.

Crozier, William Armstrong.  A Registry of American Families Entitled to Coat Armor from the Earliest to the Present Time.  New York:  The Genealogical Association at the Taft and Belknap Galleries, 1904.

Bolton, Charles Knowles.  Bolton’s American Armory:  A Record of Coats of Arms Which Have been in Use Within the present Bounds of the United States.  Baltimore:  Heraldic Book Company, 1964.

The site I had mentioned earlier is closed, and unfortunately because of my own stupidity I have to start anew.  At this time I am wondering If I should start a new site and create a link to the AHS site, or to request, politic, cajole, and arm twist the moderators of AHS to create pages for such an armorial.  Your input is appreciated.

Personally I’d rather have an Armorial be part of the AHS.  My reasons for this are:

<div class=“bbcode_indent” >