On Odd Designs

JJB1

JJB1
Total Posts:  83
Joined  31-10-2014

30 April 2015 12:34

To heraldic artists,

I’m curious; what is the most unusual charge a client has ever asked you to put on their shield or crest and how did you handle it? Of course, I understand if you don’t want to say as you might not want to embarrass anyone—private communications in good faith and so on. But maybe you have seen an unusual design done by someone else?

I read an article where an heraldic artist said that what must have been a physician of gastroenterology once twisted his arm into having a human colon painted onto his shield. The result apparently turned out to be an ugly design resembling “an earthworm”. But the client was happy. I didn’t get to see what it looked like.

What do you typically tell clients when they have odd requests for a new design that you don’t think will work well?

James Dempster

James Dempster
Total Posts:  602
Joined  20-05-2004

01 May 2015 06:21

I’m no heraldic artist but here are a few.

A Tudor doctor (who made a great reputation by examination of urine) was granted a crest of "a piss-pot in a basket"

The arms of Sir William Herschel, the astronomer, contain his famous 40 foot telescope.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/6/62/Herschel_40_foot.jpg

Never emblazoned as it is actually blazoned (because we all know its just a 17th century variant spelling) but Lyon Register contains a crest with the Wodehousian "a mount semee of aunts".

The devil in me has to ask whether the L in your surname is pronounced and whether you’re thinking of Argent three blood puddings Sable (Boudin noir).

:D

James

JJB1

JJB1
Joined  31-10-2014

01 May 2015 09:53