Derbyshire CoA Design

gscsderby

gscsderby
Total Posts:  21
Joined  28-11-2007

05 December 2007 09:49

gselvester;51902 wrote:

Repeating the names of the tinctures is the traditional manner: it is the traditional American manner and this is America. Using phrases like "of the second", etc. have been abandoned for good reason. It makes the blazon confusing and the blazon should be anything but confusing. The standard set in American blazon is to repeat the names of the tinctures each time they come up.

What "ancestors" are you referring to?

I agree that using such verbiage is cumbersome. You should have seen the blazon for some of my early designs; ‘of the fourth… and so on! As I stated way back at the beginning, I’m new to the art and am seeking guidance and understanding for/of same.

And as for the ancestors i was referring to, those (mine/yours) that brought the heraldic tradition with them when they came to this country.

Donnchadh

Donnchadh
Total Posts:  4101
Joined  13-07-2005

05 December 2007 12:30

i know i am not a member and only a guest from time to time, but i’m uncertain how this thread is not a violation of the ‘no design’ rule that shut down the other two threads by Joshua….perhaps because this one is up and if i’m not mistaken was done so after Joshua’s first one was closed and before the second one was that is the reason the other newbie started the second thread…that and maybe ‘cuz he is new…i dunno…but in case either man needs to (i.e., both men’s design threads shut down) i recommend bringing these design questions up at IAAH as well so they can discuss them until their membership here comes through whereby they can then go to the members design section for assistance.

regardless of all that, however, i second Ton’s last post on these arms. really nice arms in design and execution, but at first sight i think of military arms. that could be my hang-up only though.