Clarifying appropriate use of Gyronny fields

Walkerius

Walkerius
Total Posts:  6
Joined  07-07-2012

11 October 2014 10:44

I’m pretty new to heraldry, but I’m interested in using gyronny fields and wanted to understand the use of gyronny more clearly. I apologize if any of my questions are ridiculous. (This might belong in a better forum, I figured ‘Queries’ meant this)

- I understand the most common number of gyrons is 8, however 6, 10, 12 and 16 can also be found. Can you assign any even number of gyrons more than 4? (such as the 32 seen on the War flag of the Imperial Japanese Army and Japanese Naval Ensign)

- Gyronny seem to mostly stay to 2 colors, is this a rule, a strong suggestion or just a tendency? If you can use a third color, could you have an odd numbered gyronny (over 3, as I think that’s per pall)?

-Is the term Mal-gironné not used outside French heraldry? What is the difference between a Gyronny of six verses a Mal-gironné of six? Can you use Mal-gironné on any other number other than six? Is there another way to emblazon a canted gyronned field by 45 degrees?

- Is there any limitations to the use of lines of partition such as Rayonny, Embattled, Wavy, Nebuly, etc. on the gyronny partitions?

- Does a charge on a gyronny field need a countercharged fimbriation to maintain the rule of tincture? (Does that even achieve the satisfaction of maintaining that rule?) I saw the arms of the Clackson family and it was a Gyronny of sixteen Argent and Or to surround an azure lozenge; is this a better treatment of attempting to maintain the rule of tincture, or a rare exception similar to the Kingdom of Jerusalem?

- How would one emlazon a partial gyronny field? Can one use a per fessed gyronny in a style similar to the Arizona state flag, or perhaps a Quartered field with the 1+4 or the 2+3 quarters using gyrons? Is this creating extra work or would be more easily expressed in another way?