Design Award

The Society's Design Award recognizes and supports excellence in American heraldry. First awarded in 2006, the Design Award is normally given annually to an American academic, corporate, military, civic, religious, or social organization whose coat of arms exemplifies the best in heraldic design. The arms must have been designed in the United States. The designs are nominated by the Society’s membership; finalists are selected by the Board of Governors.

The award is named for Pierre de Chaignon la Rose (1871-1940), who was in many ways the father of the American heraldic revival of the early 20th century.